1970 MERCEDES-BENZ PAGODE SL 280

DESCRIPTION

The most coveted version of the legendary Mercedes W113 Pagoda top series!

The Mercedes-Benz W113 was presented at the Geneva Motor Show in 1963 as a replacement for the 300 SL and 190 SL. 48,912 were produced from 1963 to 1971, and 19,440 of them were sold in the USA. They were developed under the leadership of Mercedes-Benz technical director Fritz Nallinger, chief engineer Rudolf Uhlenhaut and styling manager Friedrich Geiger. The main designers were Paul Bracq and Béla Barényi, who created the patented, slightly concave hardtop that inspired the nickname "Pagoda".

 

All models were equipped with an in-line six-cylinder engine with fuel injection. The bonnet, trunk lid, door trim and tarpaulin were made of aluminum for weight reasons. A comparatively short and wide chassis, combined with excellent suspension, strong brakes and radial tires, gave the W113 excellent handling. The characteristic upright Bosch headlights "fishbowl" and the simple chrome grill, dominated by the big star in the nose panel, were a tribute to the 300 SL Roadster. W113 SL were typically configured as a "coupe / roadster" with a hood and a removable hardtop. The 280SL was introduced in December 1967 and was in production until February 23, 1971, when the W113 was replaced by its successor, the completely new and much heavier R107.

 

Over the years, the W113 has evolved from a sports car to a comfortable Grand Tourer. In addition, US models were usually equipped with a 4-speed automatic transmission and air conditioning. Manual transmission models were delivered with the standard 4-speed or the optional ZF 5-speed. The main change was an upgrade of the (2.8 l) M130 engine with 170 hp maximum output and 180 lbft maximum torque, which finally gave the W113 sufficient power. Each engine was now tested on the test bench for two hours before installation, so that its performance specification was finally guaranteed. When the 280SL of the next SL generation with the designation R107 gave way, it had firmly established itself as one of the best cars of the Stuttgart company. With elegant design, excellent performance and incomparable workmanship, the SL series from 1963 to 1971 are solid collector's items.

 

On December 12, 1969, Ms. Rachel Koury and her 67 Mercedes 230 SL visited John H. Butts Motors in Santa Barbara, California, to upgrade to a brand new 1970s model 280 SL with automatic and power steering. The new vehicle was partially funded by the Santa Barbara National Bank. For reasons unknown to us, the car was immediately passed on to Ms. Shirley Greening, who owned it until she could no longer safely operate her little gem. Original bill of sale, window stickers and financial papers are available, as well as the data card, the service book, the operating and parts manual etc. Mrs. Greening had moved to Arizona at the time and had given the Mercedes to her son. He took ownership on paper for legal reasons and sold it to the next owner in 2005.

 

It is essentially a 2-owner vehicle. To this day, the car looks wonderful when it drives down the street. It shows timeless elegance and subtle colors light beige (181) & black (040) & black MB Tex (131) interior. Automatic transmission and power steering make the 280 SL a pleasure and attract more admiration than envy. The glass and the chrome elements are excellent. The interior and the fabric convertible top are in good condition and mechanically solid. Spare wheel, jack, chuck and tool kit are also still available.

 

This Pagoda Top Mercedes was used in California, as well as in South Dakota and Arizona. It was repaired and serviced at any time, except for a few repairs to the Kienzle watch. The odometer at this point shows 7,130 miles. In 2012, just 330 miles ago, the engine was rebuilt by Metric Motors in California and then by MB Motors in Phoenix.

 

It was the owners who ran, drove, were proud and happy before a Pagoda Top Mercedes became a collector or an investment. Whatever you thought was important, it was done to maintain its appearance.

 

The car is solid, with straight lines, good fit and good gaps. A great car with great driveability and a beautiful appearance for almost half the price of a perfect example, the smile per mile will easily outweigh the money spent.

BASIC INFO

Brand: Mercedes-Benz

Model: SL 280

First registration: 1970

Condition: very good

Body shape: convertible

Color: Black

Interior color: black full leather

Drive: Left-hand drive

VEHICLE DATA

  • Automatic transmission

  • Power steering

  • Rear wheel drive

  • Mechanically perfect

  • Well-kept papers

  • Fabric top in good condition

  • Chrome and glass in great condition

  • Great interior

  • Light Beige (181) & Black (040) & Black MB Tex (131)

 

PHONE

+49 172 86 80 449

E-MAIL

OPENING HOURS

Monday - Sunday: 9 am - 6 pm

WAREHOUSE and SERVICE

Gartenstraße 4
D-37215 Witzenhausen I Hundelshausen

SERVICE

• Classic car of your choice

• Completion

• Service

• Restoration

• Maintenance

• and much more

CONTACT

Ulrich Sievers I US Consult GmbH

Hinter dem Bornhof 23
D-37247 Großalmerode


Phone Germany: +49 172 86 80 449
Phone USA: +1-626-233-1797 (temporary)


E-Mail: ulrich@usclassicmustangs.com

© 2020 by US Consult GmbH • Legal NoticeData Protection

1970 MERCEDES-BENZ PAGODE SL 280

BESCHREIBUNG

Die begehrteste Version der legendären Mercedes W113 Pagoda Top-Serie!

Der Mercedes-Benz W113 wurde auf dem Genfer Autosalon 1963 als Ersatz für den 300 SL und 190 SL vorgestellt. 48.912 wurden von 1963 bis 1971 produziert, und davon 19.440 in den USA verkauft. Sie wurden unter der Federführung von Mercedes-Benz-Technischer Direktor Fritz Nallinger, Chefingenieur Rudolf Uhlenhaut und Stylingleiter Friedrich Geiger entwickelt. Hauptdesigner waren Paul Bracq und Béla Barényi, die das patentierte, leicht konkave Hardtop kreierten, das den Spitznamen „Pagode“ inspirierte.

 

Alle Modelle waren mit einem Reihensechs-zylindermotor mit Kraftstoffeinspritzung ausge-stattet. Motorhaube, Kofferraumdeckel, Türver-kleidung und Persenning wurden aus Gewichtsgründen aus Aluminium gefertigt. Ein vergleichsweise kurzes und breites Fahrwerk, kombiniert mit einer hervorragenden Federung, starken Bremsen und Radialreifen, verlieh dem W113 ein hervorragendes Handling. Die charakteristischen aufrechten Bosch-Scheinwerfer „fishbowl“ und der schlichte Chromgrill, dominiert vom großen Stern in der Nasenverkleidung, war eine Hommage an den 300 SL Roadster. W113 SL wurden typischerweise als „Coupe / Roadster“ mit einem Verdeck und einem abnehmbaren Hardtop konfiguriert.

Der 280SL wurde im Dezember 1967 eingeführt und lief bis zum 23. Februar 1971 in der Produktion, als der W113 durch seinen Nachfolger, den völlig neuen und wesentlich schwereren R107, ersetzt wurde. Im Laufe der Jahre entwickelte sich der W113 von einem Sportwagen zu einem komfortablen Grand Tourer. Zudem waren US-Modelle in der Regel mit einem 4-Gang-Automatikgetriebe und einer Klimaanlage ausgestattet. Schaltgetriebemodelle wurden mit dem serienmäßigen 4-Gang oder dem optionalen ZF 5-Gang ausgeliefert. Die Hauptänderung war eine Aufrüstung des (2,8 l) M130-Motors mit 170 PS Maximalleistung und 180 lbft maximalem Drehmoment, die dem W113 schließlich eine ausreichende Leistung verlieh. Jeder Motor wurde nun vor dem Einbau zwei Stunden lang auf dem Prüfstand getestet, sodass seine Leistungsspezifikation endlich gewährleistet war. Als der 280SL der nächsten SL-Generation mit der Bezeichnung R107 Platz machte, hatte er sich fest als eines der besten Autos der Stuttgarter Firma etabliert. Mit elegantem Design, hervorragender Leistung, sowie unvergleichlicher Verarbeitungsqualität, sind die SL-Baureihen von 1963 bis 1971 solide Sammlerstücke.

 

Am 12. Dezember 1969 besuchte Frau Rachel Koury mit ihrem 67 Mercedes 230 SL, John H. Butts Motors in Santa Barbara in Kalifornien, um ein Upgrade zu einem brandneuen 1970er Modell 280 SL mit Automatik und Servolenkung durchzuführen. Das neue Fahrzeug wurde teilweise von der Santa Barbara National Bank finanziert. Aus uns unbekannten Gründen wurde das Auto sofort an Frau Shirley Greening weitergegeben, die es besaß, bis sie ihr kleines Juwel nicht mehr sicher bedienen konnte. Original Bill of Sale, Fensteraufkleber und Finanzpapiere sind vorhanden, ebenso wie die Datenkarte, das Servicebuch, das Betriebs- und Teilehandbuch usw. Mrs. Greening war zu diesem Zeitpunkt nach Arizona gezogen und hatte den Mercedes an ihren Sohn weitergegeben. Er nahm aus rechtlichen Gründen Besitz auf Papier und verkaufte es an den nächsten Besitzer im Jahr 2005.

 

Im Wesentlichen ist es ein 2-Besitzer-Fahrzeug. Bis heute sieht das Auto wunderbar aus, wenn es die Straße entlang fährt. Es zeigt zeitlose Eleganz und dezente Farben Hellbeige (181) & Schwarz (040) & Schwarz MB Tex (131) Interieur. Automatikgetriebe und Servolenkung machen den 280 SL zum Vergnügen und ziehen eher Bewunderung als Neid an. Das Glas und die Chromelemente sind ausgezeichnet. Der Innenraum, sowie das Stoff-Cabrioverdeck sind im guten Zustand und mechanisch solide. Auch Reserverad, Wagenheber, Spannfutter und Werkzeugsatz sind noch vorhanden.

 

Dieser Pagoda Top Mercedes wurde in Kalifornien, sowie in South Dakota und Arizona eingesetzt. Es wurde jederzeit nach Bedarf repariert und gewartet, bis auf einige Reparaturen an der Kienzle-Uhr. Der Kilometerzähler zeigt zu diesem Zeitpunkt 7.130 Meilen. Im Jahr 2012, vor nur 330 Meilen, wurde der Motor von Metric Motors in Kalifornien umgebaut und dann von M.B. Motoren in Phoenix.

 

Es waren die Besitzer, die rannten, fuhren, stolz und fröhlich waren, bevor ein Pagoda Top Mercedes zum Sammler oder zur Investition wurde. Was auch immer man für wichtig hielt, es wurde getan, um das Erscheinungsbild zu erhalten.

 

Das Auto ist solide, mit geraden Linien, guter Passform und guten Lücken. Ein tolles Auto mit hervorragendem Fahrverhalten und einem schönen Aussehen zum Preis von fast der Hälfte eines perfekten Beispiels.Das Lächeln pro Meile wird das ausgegebene Geld leicht überwiegen.

BASISDATEN

Marke: Mercedes-Benz

Modell: SL 280

Baujahr: 1970

Zustand: sehr gut

Karosserieform: Cabrio

Farbe: schwarz

Innenfarbe: schwarzes Vollleder

Fahrerseite: Linkslenker (LHD)

FAHRZEUGDATEN

  • Automatikgetriebe

  • Servolenkung

  • Heckantrieb

  • mechanisch einwandfrei

  • gepflegte Papiere

  • Stoffverdeck im guten Zustand

  • Chrom und Glas in tollem Zustand

  • super Innenausstattung

  • Light Beige (181) & Black (040) & Black MB Tex (131)

TELEFON

+49 172 86 80 449

E-MAIL

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

Montag - Sonntag: 9.00 - 18.00 Uhr

LAGER und SERVICE

Gartenstraße 4
D-37215 Witzenhausen I Hundelshausen

SERVICE

• Wunsch-Oldtimer

• Abwicklung

• Service

• Restauration

• Pflege

• Instandhaltung

• Wartung

• uvm.

KONTAKT

Ulrich Sievers I US Consult GmbH

Hinter dem Bornhof 23
D-37247 Großalmerode


Tel. DE: +49 172 86 80 449
Tel. USA: +1-626-233-1797 (temporär)


E-Mail: ulrich@usclassicmustangs.com

© 2020 by US Consult GmbH  •  Impressum  •  Datenschutz